Not So Empty Nest Days

Cherishing the days past while moving towards the days ahead, BHG

Sitting In Neutral

on March 7, 2014

“I appeal to you therefore, brothers, by the mercies of God, to present your bodies as a living sacrifice, holy and acceptable to God, which is your spiritual worship.” Romans 12:1

20140306-061530.jpg

The one thing I hate to do is sit in a long line or sit waiting for someone while I’m in the car. There seems to be some sort of allergic reaction I have while waiting with the car in park or neutral. I start to first itch, then I tend to get real antsy and have to keep moving, then irritation sets in and finally sleep begins to cover over me like an invisible blanket! I just don’t understand it! I can stand in long lines, I can stay on the phone waiting for a service rep to answer or remember that I’m on the phone, but I cannot wait in the car!

Yesterday, my youngest daughter (the one in recovery; see the last blog post) said something that got me thinking about life as a parent. She asked me what the purpose of neutral was. I explained that was the gear that allowed you to keep the car still but without the brake the car could still roll back and forth at will. I said that and instantly heard, “many have their lives in neutral right now.” Then I thought about it and sure enough, it’s true!

As a parent, how many times have you had to wait for your child to “do what was right” only to have them do what they want? That’s life in neutral. How many have had to wait up at night not knowing if their child would come through the door or if that dreaded knock would be at the door instead? That’s life in neutral. My life at some points has been in neutral! But there is an upside to being “in neutral”!

The neutral gear when used helps to save gas along with wear and tear on your engine. It’s way better to sit for long periods in neutral rather than in park. Here’s the spiritual aspect without getting super spiritual. When your life is in neutral, you are trusting that GOD is in control. Now granted, when in a car in neutral, you have to constantly be on the brake to avoid rolling forward or back, BUT, in a dire situation such as snowy/ icy hills (for those who don’t know or don’t drive in this white stuff) neutral is the best place to be if you don’t have 1 and 2 as an option. I can even remember my brakes going out once and neutral is what I switched to to slow down and use my emergency brake! Didn’t know that did ya?!

Jesus says that are to surrender our lives to Him (neutral living) and that includes ups and downs (being off the brakes). We may roll back or forward but we must trust that He knows what He’s doing. We are then, as the Scripture above describes, to make our bodies a “living sacrifice.” This is also neutral living because we don’t know what He will have us do, where He will tell us to go or, my issue, what He will have us give up. It’s kind of like when you are at the car wash. You pull up to get on the track and then they tell you to put your car in NEUTRAL! You have NO control at all except to ride.

Put your life in neutral today… the good way!

Leave a Reply

